Skip to content
Skip to service links: contact, tools, help, the group
Skip to search
Skip to main navigation
Skip to sub navigation
Skip to Footer with links to masthead, print, email a friend and disclaimer

World Champion Vettel wins DHL Fastest Lap Award 2012

On the day he raced into history with a hard fought World Championship hat trick, DHL honored Sebastian Vettel with this year’s DHL Fastest Lap Award at a special ceremony in São Paulo.

Sebastian Vettel receives the 2012 Fastest Lap Award from DHL Express Brazil’s Joakim Thrane and DHL Ambassador, Christian Danner.

The prestigious DHL Fastest Lap Award honors consistent high performance and speed. Red Bull’s number one driver and now three-time World Champion Sebastian Vettel personified these qualities this year like no other. They are what helped the young German and his team score yet another hat trick this season: the Driver’s Championship, the Constructor’s Championship and the DHL Fastest Lap Award.

DHL honored Sebastian Vettel with this year’s DHL Fastest Lap Award during a special ceremony at the final Grand Prix™ of 2012: the FORMULA 1 GRANDE PRÊMIO PETROBRAS DO BRASIL 2012 on November 25. Vettel set the fastest lap six times this season – scoring the most points and outclassing his opponents, especially in the later stages of the season – despite increasing pressure as competition within the Drivers’ Championship heated up.

Sebastian Vettel established an unassailable lead in the fastest lap ranking after the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix in early November and received his trophy prior to the last race of the season in Sao Paolo. The award was handed over by Joakim Thrane, Managing Director, DHL Express Brazil, and former Formula 1™ driver and DHL Ambassador, Christian Danner. Joakim Thrane noted, “This year’s DHL Fastest Lap Award winner Sebastian Vettel has clearly demonstrated that continually striving for excellence and working closely as a team can deliver performance at top speed. Red Bull Racing-Renault’s consecutive success in the past two years shows how important teamwork is to achieve success – a highly important ingredient for us also at DHL, as the international specialists in logistics.”

This year’s award winner is no stranger to the DHL Fastest Lap Award and its honors, having previously hoisted the trophy in 2009. He has now equaled the tally of Finnish Lotus-Renault driver Kimi Räikkönen, who took back-to-back Fastest Lap Awards in 2007 and 2008, and has matched Räikkönen’s feat in securing both the Drivers’ Championship and DHL Fastest Lap Award in the same season. Vettel was the fastest driver on the circuits in Bahrain, Canada, Hungary, Japan, Abu Dhabi and Austin, followed in the ranking by Jenson Button, Nico Rosberg and Kimi Räikkönen, each of whom set the fastest lap at two Grands Prix of this season.

The rules of the DHL Fastest Lap Award are very simple. One point is awarded to the driver who records the fastest lap in every Grand Prix™ race. The driver with the most points at the end of the season wins the award.